Year: 2005
USA: Sony Pictures Classics
UK: Sony Pictures Releasing
Cast: Lou Pucci, Tilda Swinton, Vincent D'Onofrio, Keanu Reeves, Benjamin Bratt, Kelli Garner, Vince Vaughn, Chase Offerle, Sarah Iverson, Sarah Bing, Kit Koenig, Steve Bates, Robert Blanche, Mason Bromberg, Olivia D Brown, Caro Caccietta, Patrick Chu, Rose Colasanti, Garrett Courtney, Colton Vaughan Evans, Chet Gainer, Tyler Gannon, Daniel Goldwasser, Holly Hargrave, Kat Hargrave, Andrew Hopkins, Sherilyn Lawson, Phaedra, Charles Alan Query, Mahdad Rezaiyan, Barry Seltzer, Bob Stephenson
Director: Mike Mills
Country: USA
USA & UK: 96 mins
USA Rated: R for drug/alcohol use and sexuality involving teens, language and a disturbing image
UK Certificate: 15 contains strong language and drug use
USA Release Date: 16 September 2005 (Limited Release)
UK Release Date: 28 October 2005


It's not easy growing up, no matter what age you are...

Justin Cobb (Lou Pucci) still sucks his thumb at 17. He wants to stop and knows that his thumbsucking is disrupting his family, his love life and his identity. The only thing that changes his behavior is hypnosis therapy administered by his "guru" orthodontist (Keanu Reeves). But while Justin felt this would solve all his problems and he would finally be "normal," his troubles were really just beginning. Thumbsucking was only a symptom of a deep-seated fear: that he and his father (Vincent D'Onofrio) aren't good enough for his mother (Tilda Swinton), and that she would leave them.

Thumbsucking was the only way to soothe this fear. Once that is gone Justin spirals into manic behavior, is diagnosed with ADHD and put on Ritalin, which becomes a substitute for his thumb. When the high of the prescription drugs and a newfound success at school crash, Justin turns to pot and sex to replace his thumb.

THUMBSUCKER is the directorial debut of Mike Mills, adapted from the novel by Walter Kirn and stars Tilda Swinton, Vincent D'Onofrio, Keanu Reeves, Benjamin Bratt, Kelli Garner and Vince Vaughn.

EMI release the soundtrack THUMBSUCKER on 24 October 2005. The soundtrack has been written by Tim DeLaughter of The Polyphonic Spree and features members of the band as well as three songs from Elliot Smith.

The Polyphonic Spree is like no other group, their music is happy and uplifting and manages to make the audience feel as involved with the music as the band members. With over 20 members, a critically acclaimed live performance and a debut album that has sold over 90,000 units in the UK, Polyphonic Spree are a force to be reckoned with.

The soundtrack contains an exclusive new song from The Polyphonic Spree, 'Move Away And Shine' and three songs from Elliot Smith, one of which ('Thirteen') is previously unreleased and was chosen by Elliot for inclusion in the movie.