Year: 2010
UK: Soda Pictures
Cast: Liam Boyle, Alfie Allen, Jefferson Hall, Al Weaver, Jo Woodcock, Vinette Robinson, Ralf Little, Oliver Lee, Stephen Martin Walters, Johnny Marr, Agyness Deyn
Director: Mark Elliott
Country: USA
USA: mins
UK: 105 mins
USA Rated:
UK Certificate: 15 contains strong language and drug use
USA Release Date: tbc
UK Release Date: 26 August 2011 (Limited Release)


The story of Liverpool four piece The Grams, POWDER is an authentic rock n' roll story. Outrageously funny, seething with coke-addled sex and paranoia, and yet capturing all the energy and excitement of a band breaking through, POWDER is also a frighteningly accurate low-down on the machinations of the music business.

Adapted from the best-selling novel by Kevin Sampson, the former manager of The Farm, POWDER has all the ingredients to commit the machinations of the music industry to screen.

POWDER stars Liam Boyle (AWAYDAYS), Alfie Allen (FLASHBACKS OF A FOOL, FREEFALL and EQUUS) and introduces Jefferson Hall, Al Weaver, Jo Woodcock and Vinette Robinson. A Red Union Films production, POWDER is directed by Mark Elliott, produced by David Hughes (AWAYDAYS) and executive produced by writer Kevin Sampson (AWAYDAYS, SURVEILLANCE).

POWDER is the second film to shoot from Red Union's production slate. The film's £3.5 million budget has been fully funded via the government's Enterprise Investment Scheme. Shooting commenced at V Festival in Staffordshire in August 2009 before moving to Liverpool, London and Ibiza, wrapping in Spain in October 2009.

Alongside the cast of young British acting talent including Alfie Allen (GAME OF THRONES) and Liam Boyle (AWAYDAYS) are The Rascals' members Greg Mighall and Joe Edwards. Together they make up The Grams, a fictional band that is given an authentic identity thanks to an original soundtrack of new songs written and performed by Starsailor's James Walsh. Supporting roles by Ralf Little, Oliver Lee and Stephen Martin Walters will be included in the film as well as cameo appearances by Johnny Marr, Agyness Deyn and others.

The original soundtrack for POWDER features 7 new tracks by James Walsh (as The Grams) and tracks by The Grams' arch rivals Transbad Saints, in addition to songs by Black Daniel and Joe Echo and will be available on digital download from 22 August 2011.

Soundtrack Listing

1. The Grams - On Fire
2. The Grams - Desert Rain
3. The Grams - Here Come The Grams
4. The Grams - Letting Go
5. The Grams - Serpentine
6. The Grams - Keep It All Inside
7. The Grams - Letting Go
8. David A Hughes - Keva Sees Hannah (score)
9. Transbad Saints - Caught On Video
10. Transbad Saints - Bad Love
11. Transbad Saints - Wavelength
12. Transbad Saints - DNA (Rock Version)
13. David A Hughes - Freya's Bar (score)
14. David A Hughes - Ibiza Pulse (score)
15. Claire Freeman feat. Mary Leay - High Flyer (Chilled Phazer Mix)
16. Claire Freeman feat. Joe Echo - Crystalline (Club Mix)
17. Scarlett & Viva - Bangin n Clangin
18. Black Daniel - Ivy
19. Black Daniel - I Love You But Don't Touch Me Coz You're Sick
20. Black Daniel - Here Comes Caesar
21. Black Daniel - Look Away Sancho
22. David A Hughes - Ticky Enters The Sea (score)

Director Mark Elliott

Mark Elliott has edited numerous award-winning dramas including CLOCKING OFF, FUNLAND and UNFORGIVEN. POWDER will be his directorial debut. Red Union's Kevin Sampson said: "Identifying and promoting new talent is one of Red Union's cornerstone philosophies. Mark impressed Dave (Hughes) and I greatly with his work on AWAYDAYS. He has a tremendous creative sensibility, an intuitive feel for the dynamics of story and drama and a perfectionist's attention to detail. Asking him to direct Powder was a very natural next step for us, and for Mark."

Executive Producer/Writer Kevin Sampson

Kevin Sampson is a bestselling novelist and screenwriter living and working in Liverpool. Kevin has written 7 novels, translated into 12 languages. 'Awaydays', 'Powder' and 'Outlaws' have been published in the USA, Germany, Russia and Spain among others. As a screenwriter, Kevin has been commissioned by BBC, Channel Four, The Film Council, ITV and Sky. His film SURVEILLANCE was selected for the Panorama section of the 2007 Berlin Film Festival. Kevin acted as both screenwriter and executive producer on AWAYDAYS.

Producer David Hughes

Following a successful career in several notable bands including OMD, David first moved into film composing in 1986, later teaming with John Murphy for the UK feature LEON THE PIG FARMER. From that time Hughes & Murphy became two of the leading UK film composers, completing over 20 feature films in six years, including LOCK STOCK & TWO SMOKING BARRELS, which also spawned a platinum soundtrack album, and three major US studio features. In 2001 David returned from the US to work solo and opened a fully digital recording facility in the centre of Liverpool. Recent projects have included the BBC's BAFTA nominated series FUNLAND (also receiving an RTS craft nomination), and the SKY/RHI production Terry Pratchett's HOGFATHER. David is also a director of well-established Merseyside multimedia company ESP Multimedia and duplication company CD Duplicator. David was the producer for AWAYDAYS, Red Union Films successful debut feature.