Year: 2001
USA: Touchstone Pictures
UK: Buena Vista International
Cast: Ben Affleck, Josh Hartnett, Kate Beckinsale, Cuba Gooding Jr, Jon Voight, Colm Feore, Alec Baldwin, William Lee Scott, Greg Zola, Ewen Bremner, Tom Sizemore, James King, Catherine Kellner, Jennifer Garner, Michael Shannon, Matthew Davis, Mako, Dan Aykroyd, William Fichtner, Peter Firth
Director: Michael Bay
Country: USA
UK: 182 mins
USA Rated: PG-13 for sustained intense war sequences, images of wounded, brief sensuality and some language
UK Certificate: 12
USA Release Date: 25 May 2001
UK Release Date: 1 June 2001


Yesterday, December 7, 1941 - a date which will live in infamy - the United States of America was suddenly and deliberately attacked by naval and air forces of the Empire of Japan.
--- President Franklin D. Roosevelt's War Message to Congress (December 8, 1941)

On a sleepy Sunday morning in December, as children played and families prayed, squadrons of Japanese warplanes screamed across the skies of a Hawaiian paradise and launched a surprise attack on the US armed forces at Pearl Harbor. The infamous day that jolted America from peaceful isolationism to total war and altered the course of world history is relived in this epic tale of patriotism, passion and romance from producer Jerry Bruckheimer, producer/director Michael Bay and screenwriter Randall Wallace.

PEARL HARBOR focuses on the life-changing events surrounding December 7, 1941, and the war's devastating impact on two daring young pilots - Rafe McCawley (Ben Affleck) and Danny Walker (Josh Hartnett) - and a beautiful, dedicated nurse Evelyn Johnson (Kate Beckinsale). It is a tale of catastrophic defeat, heroic victory, personal courage and overwhelming love set against a stunning backdrop of spectacular wartime action.

Touchstone Pictures and Jerry Bruckheimer Films present a Michael Bay Film, PEARL HARBOR. Directed by Michael Bay, produced by Jerry Bruckheimer and Michael Bay, the screenplay is written by Randall Wallace. Executive producers are Mike Stenson, Barry Waldman, Randall Wallace, Chad Oman and Bruce Hendricks.